Press "Enter" to skip to content

Student Media, staff earn awards

Oral Roberts University’s Student Media recently earned multiple state, regional and national nods for its Oracle and Perihelion yearbook publications and the Oracle’s online website.

Some award competitions announced “finalists” with award winners to be named this summer.

The Society of Professional Journalists named the Oracle best non-daily student newspaper in Oklahoma and Texas. SPJ also awarded Editor-in-chief Hannah Covington first place in general news reporting for her series on Oklahoma City’s Hispanic community, published in The Oklahoman.

The Perihelion also won a national first-place award for yearbook from the American Scholastic Press Association.

Great Plains Journalism (Eight-state) Finalist: Hannah Covington; Bruce Dixon, designer of the year; Meghan Drake, student news website of the year; Austin St. John, photographer of the year; Oracle staff, newspaper of the year.

SPJ, Oklahoma Chapter: Hannah Covington and Austin St. John, finalists.

Oklahoma Collegiate Media Association: First place, interior page design; second place, overall newspaper; third place, front page design; second place, website; Destinee Thames, first and second place advertising display; Samantha Magnaye, third place advertising display; Greg Brown, second place column writing; Billy Burke, first place sports reporting; Madison McDaniel, third place reviews; Nathan Porter, first place column writing; Ryan Woods, honorable mention sports reporting; McKenzie Garber and Kristy Sturgill, second place team investigative reporting; Hannah Covington, third place editorial writing; first place feature writing; first place investigative reporting; third place general newswriting; first place general newswriting; first place reporting portfolio; Austin St. John, first place news photography; second place photography portfolio and second place sports photography

Oklahoma Press Association: First place news content; advertising, sales promotion, newswriting, feature writing, sports coverage, photography and community leadership, second to fourth place awards


Oklahoma Collegiate Media Association: Ashton Loehr, first place sports writing; Lauren Percival, second place sports writing; Garett Pierson, first, second and third place feature writing; Chandler Branzell, first and second place feature photography; Chelsey Butler, second place feature photography; Jeanette DeRubeis, honorable mention feature photography; Camille Orgel, honorable mention sports photography.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply