Press "Enter" to skip to content

Mabee Center, Okie musicians among Music Hall of Fame inductees

To be forever honored as musical heroes, six successful Oklahomans are being inducted into the Oklahoma Music Hall of Fame for their accomplishments in the music industry.

A concert to honor the new inductees will be held on Oct. 15 at the Mabee Center. The concert will feature Rising Star Award winners The Swan Brothers, and sets by all of the living 2013 inductees.

The Mabee Center location is a break in tradition. The induction performance was previously held at the Muskogee Civic Center.

The announcement of the inductees, as well as the change of location for the celebratory concert, was announced Sept. 4 at the Mabee Center which is also being inducted to the hall of fame for its impact on Tulsa’s music scene.

The Mabee Center is celebrating a special anniversary with their induction to the hall of fame. This marks 40 years of bringing large name acts, such as Elvis, Garth Brooks and more to Tulsa.

The Sept. 2013 inductees include country singer Norma Jean Beasler; the inventor of the electric steel guitar Robert Lee “Bob” Dunn; opera singer Barbara McAlister; gospel singer Sandi Patty; country singer/songwriter James “Jimmy” Webb; and comedy music writer Mason Williams.

One of the inductees, Barbara McAlister, is Muskogee native. McAlister is being nominated for her skill as a mezzo-soprano opera singer and for her work to promote her Cherokee heritage. The accomplishments of this small-town girl have reached across the globe, mainly to Europe, where she performed in some of the most famous opera houses.

The concert on Oct. 15 will feature performances from only a few of this year’s inductees.

The headlining act of the night will be The Swon Brothers, a two-man duo who took third on the fourth season of NBC’s “The Voice”.

The Swon Brothers are not inductees, but earlier this year received the Rising Star honorable mention from the Oklahoma Music Hall of Fame.

Previously this year, famous guitarist Neal Schon of Journey was inducted into the hall of fame as well, but will not be celebrated with the other 2013 inductees.

All of these Oklahoman contributors to the world of music will be joining the likes of Carrie Underwood, The All-American Rejects, and many others who have influenced music throughout many genres in many aspects.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply